Skip to content

We’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award!

June 16, 2014

liebster-award1

Many thanks to JP Chartier of Gutter Pup Adventures for nominating Exploring The Blue Marble for the Liebster Award! I’ve learned that the Liebster Award is a great way for bloggers to nominate and award other blogs that they enjoy reading. Thank you JP Chartier for giving Exploring The Blue Marble this recognition!

If you have been nominated for the Liebster Award, here are some rules to keep in mind:

1. Thank the person that nominated you (and link back to their blog).

2. Answer 10 of their questions.

3. Nominate 10 blogs.

4. Ask 10 of your own questions.

5. Let your nominees know they have been nominated!

My Answers

1. Where is the most beautiful place you’ve ever traveled to?

Anybody who has visited Banff & Jasper National Parks in Canada would believe they’ve stumbled onto Paradise on Earth. Nature is at her most beautiful in national parks and Banff and Jasper are truly two radiant crown jewels of the Canadian Rockies.

2. City, Ocean or Mountains?

Ah, I love being in the water, so it’s a tough choice between Ocean and Mountains. If I absolutely had to choose, it would be Mountains.

3. List your 3 favorite travel blogs.

It’s hard to pick just 3, but some travel blogs that I love to read are – The Planet D, World Hum and BootsnAll

4. What made you start a travel blog?

I love writing and photography. I also love travel and it brings all these interests together and makes me want to be a storyteller. I started this blog so that I could write and share my stories, photos and adventures with readers who have similar interests.

5. The most important thing travel has taught you?

To leave room for serendipity. As much as we love to plan itineraries and activities in advance, being flexible and open to the unexpected makes travel that much more fun and exciting. It is the same with life. We can plan all we want, but things don’t always go like clockwork. Carpe diem and live in the moment!

6. What are 3 of your favorite travel destinations?

Africa is one place I haven’t visited yet which is on top of my list of must-visit destinations. India is a country close to my heart and one I would like to explore more in depth. Having recently traveled in Greece, I have to add it to list of my favorite travel destinations – beautiful islands, pristine beaches, ancient history, fabulous archaeological ruins, great food, tons of culture and friendly locals – what more could one want?

7. What is the most important advice you could give someone just starting out with a blog?

Start with great content. Everything else will follow.

8. How do you get people to take notice of your blog?

I am active on Social Media like Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest. I share links to my blog posts whenever I have something new up. I also read and comment on other travel blogs regularly. I think putting up great content is a huge reason why people continue to visit a blog and read it. If the stories are timely, relevant and interesting, people definitely take notice of a blog and frequently return to read new posts.

9. How many days a year on average do you travel?

Hmm, I haven’t kept track of this! But here is what our travel in 2013 looked like in photos!

10. Any travel hacks you’d care to share?

It’s tempting to overpack when traveling, but I have since learned that if you keep aside half of what you plan to take, then that is all you will need. Another useful tip is to try a duffle bag as a carry-on. It’s lighter than a roller-bag so you can pack more stuff and still stay within the carry-on weight limit.

My 10 Liebster Award Blog Nominees are:

Mapping Megan

Hitchhikers Handbook

Why Waste Annual Leave

Gypsy Nester

The Travels of BBQ Boy and Spanky

Inspiring Travellers

Feel Free or Fly

Divergent Travelers

Latitude 34

Breathe Dream Go

Here are 10 questions from me:

1. How many countries have you visited so far and which one would you return to in a heartbeat?

2. What type of research do you do before traveling to a destination?

3. Name 3 of your favorite travel writers and/or wanderlust-inspiring books you have read?

4. What are some must-have items you pack whenever you travel?

5. If there was anywhere in the world you could be right now, where would that be and why?

6. What do you look for and seek when you travel?

7. Any tips on travel writing, photography and social media usage which you would like to share?

8. Where is home for you?

9. Do you prefer traveling solo, as a couple, with friends or family? Why?

10. What is one thing you wish you had known before you started your travel blog?

I look forward to reading your answers to these questions! I’d like to thank JP Chartier of Gutter Pup Adventures again for nominating Exploring The Blue Marble for the Liebster Award. Check out Gutter Pup Adventures for hidden gems that are regularly highlighted as great destinations for travel, adventure and photography.

Happy Blogging!

~ Trupti

From → General

2 Comments
  1. Very informative! I’ve learned alot about you & your blog 🙂 Banff &Jasper Natl’ Parks are on my bucketlist, can’t wait to experience them. I look forward to more excellent content from you in the future my friend!

  2. Hi Trupti – posted today our answers to your questions: http://bbqboy.net/liebster-award-winners/.
    Thank you again for nominating us!
    Frank (bbqboy)

Leave a Reply

